Faculty & Staff


Headmaster
Dr. Liz Norman



Dr. Liz Norman

Headmaster

At Hooper Since: 2017

Colleges/Universities Attended:

Degree(s) Held: B.A. English minor French, M.A. English Education, Nationally Board Certified in English Language Arts, Doctorate in Educational Leadership, Policy and Law.

email. lnorman@hooperacademy.org


Mrs. Miriam Anderson

Assistant Headmaster/Counselor

Biology/Environmental Science

Teaching at Hooper since: 2013

Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University Montgomery

Degree(s) Held: B.S, Biology; M. Ed. Education, Administrative Certificate

Extracurricular Activities/Responsibilities: Senior Class Sponsor

email. manderson@hooperacademy.org


Elementary Faculty
K-5
Mrs. Lindsey Bozeman
Teaching Assignment: 4th Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Childhood Education
email: lbozeman@hooperacademy.org

1st Grade   
Mrs. Deborah B. Moncrief
Teaching Assignment: 1st Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 1987
Colleges/Universities Attended: Huntingdon College, Troy State University
Degree(s) Held: BS Elementary Education, MS Early Childhood Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Diamond Dolls Sponsor
email: dbmoncrief@hooperacademy.org

2nd Grade  
Miss Lauren Meredith
Teaching Assignment: 2nd
Teaching at Hooper since: 2014
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University
Degree(s) Held: BS Early Childhood Education
Extracurricular Activities/Responsibilities: JV Cheer Coach
email: lmeredith@hooperacademy.org

3rd Grade  
Mrs. Brittany Carpenter
Teaching Assignment: 3rd Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University, Troy University
Degree(s) Held: BS Early Childhood Education, MS Early Childhood Education
email: bcarpenter@hooperacademy.org

4th Grade
Mr. Ricky Thomas
Teaching Assignment: 4th Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy State University
Degree(s) Held: BS
email: rthomas@hooperacademy.org

5th Grade
Mrs. Ashley Cornwall
Teaching Assignment: 5th Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 2011
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Childhood Education
email: acornwall@hooperacademy.org

6th Grade
Mrs. Linda Richardson
Teaching Assignment: 3rd Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 1995
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Elementary Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: District Science Fair
email: lrichardson@hooperacademy.org

High School Faculty

Miss Jessi Andrews
Teaching Assignment: 7th Grade History, 8th/9th/11th/12th Science, 8th Grade Enrichment
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Huntingdon College
Degree(s) Held: BA Physical Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Asst JV Girls Basketball
email: jandrews@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Roger Burdette
Teaching Assignment: High School English
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: Community College of the Air Force, Auburn University Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS/MS Secondary Education, English Language Arts Public Affairs
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties:
email: rburdette@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Lauryn Moon Horton
Teaching Assignment: Performing Arts, Fine Arts, Psychology, Cultural Literacy
Teaching at Hooper since: 2013
Colleges/Universities Attended: Jacksonville State University
Degree(s) Held: BS History, minor Political Science
Extra Curricula activities/duties: Scholars Bowl, Jr. Class Sponsor
email: lhorton@hooperacademy.org
 
Mr. John Johnson
Teaching Assignment: Physics
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: University of West Alabama, UAB
Degree(s) Held: AB, Science, MEd Admin & Supervision, Chemistry, Biology
email: lmeredith@hooperacademy.org

Ms.
Toni Kilpatrick
Teaching Assignment: Elementary Computer, Computer I, Computer II, Dual Enrollment, College/Career, Yearbook
Teaching at Hooper since: 2012
Colleges/Universities Attended: Lurleen B. Wallace Community College, Auburn Montgomery, NSU, Troy University, University of West Alabama
Degree(s) Held: AA- Education, BS-Elementary Education, BS-Criminal Justice minor Computer Science, MS Education, MEd School Counseling, EdS School Counseling
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Technology Fair, Webmaster, Jr. Class Sponsor, Dual Enrollment Coordinator
email: tkilpatrick@hooperacademy.org

Miss Elyse McIntyre

Teaching Assignment: Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy

Teaching at Hooper since: 2014

Colleges/Universities Attended: Judson College

Degree(s) Held: BS Science

Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: JV Girls Basketball, Softball

email: emcintyre@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Duane McWhorter

Teaching Assignment: History

Teaching at Hooper since: 2016

Colleges/Universities Attended: AUM, Alabama State

Degree(s) Held: BS Health/PE, MS Health

Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Head Football Coach

email: dmcwhorter@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Bill Moore

Teaching Assignment: Athletic Director, Health, Bible, PE

Teaching at Hooper since: 2017

Colleges/Universities Attended: Harding University

Degree(s) Held: BA Kinesiology w/Social Science minor

Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Varsity Football

email: bmoore@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Shep Mularz

Teaching at Hooper since: 2015

Colleges/Universities Attended: Jacksonville State University, Faulkner University

Degree(s) Held: BS Sports Management

Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Head Baseball, Asst Football

email: smularz@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Renee Nelson
Teaching Assignment: 7th, 8th, 9th English
Teaching at Hooper since: 1998
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy University, Alabama State University
Degree(s) Held: BS English/History, MS English Education
email: rnelson@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Lani Palama
Teaching Assignment: Calculus, Pre-Cal, Geometry, Physics
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburm University, Auburn Montgomery, Troy University
Degree(s) Held: BS Physical Science, Molecular Biology, Microbiology; Minors in Math, Chemistry and Physics
email: lpalama@hooperacademy.org

Mr. James Maury Popwell
Teaching Assignment: Sr. Social Studies
Teaching at Hooper since: 2004
Colleges/Universities Attended: Central Al. Community College, Huntingdon College, Troy University
Degree(s) Held: BS in Social Studies, minor in PE, Masters in Administration and Supervision
email: mpopwell@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Laura Simmons

Teaching Assignment: Elementary Music, Spanish I & II, Pre-Algebra, Enrichment
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Baylor University
Degree(s) Held: BA Communications Specialist and English
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Spanish Club
email: lsimmons@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Laci Slay
Teaching Assignment: Jr High/High School Science, Enrichment
Teaching at Hooper since: 2014
Colleges/Universities Attended: Tarleton State University
Degree(s) Held: BS Kinesiology
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Science Fair Coordinator
email: lslay@hooperacademy.org

Miss Elaine Smith
Teaching Assignment: Library
Teaching at Hooper since: 1974
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy State University, Auburn, Auburn Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Education (History, English), M.Ed. History, Certification Educational Media
email: esmith@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Andy Wilson
Teaching Assignment: 8th Grade History
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: University of Alabama, United States Sports Academy
Degree(s) Held: BA History, MS Sports Science in Sports Management
Extracurricular Activities/Duties: JV/Varsity Football, JV/Varsity Basketball
email:
awilson@hooperacademy.org


Staff

Athletic Director
Bill Moore
Accounts Receivable
Mrs. Rachael Jones
Bookkeeper/Registrar
Mrs. Judy Reeves

Lunchroom

Mrs. Joann Harrell
Mrs. Kathy Hester
Mrs. Jennifer Beck